Marriages

Municipal Court Marriages

The Olympia Municipal Court Judge is authorized by law to perform marriage ceremonies in the State of Washington. Marriage ceremonies are performed both at the Olympia Municipal Court and at other locations. Costs vary according to the time and location of the ceremony.

Marriage License

Washington State requires a 3 day waiting period between the date a marriage license is obtained from the Auditor’s Office and the date a marriage ceremony can take place. License is valid for only a 60-day period. License fee is currently $64 and applicants must be 18 years of age or older. Please contact the Thurston County Auditor’s Office for more information. 

Thurston County Auditor
360.786.5407
http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/auditor/licensing/marriage.htm

Marriage Ceremony

Two witnesses (over age 18) must attend the ceremony. If no witnesses are available, please inform the judge. The marriage license must be provided to the judge at least 1 day prior to the ceremony to have the documents properly completed on the wedding day. The names of the two witnesses must be provided when the license is given to the court. These names must be spelled out on a separate sheet of paper in order to ensure accuracy.

Ceremony Times
Ceremonies can be held Weekdays 4:30 pm or later and on Weekends

Ceremony Fees
After hours Monday – Friday at courthouse = $100
Weekend rate at courthouse or surrounding county = $200

*Cash only – due when license is dropped off

If you would like to arrange for a marriage ceremony please fill out and return the Wedding Request Form or come to the Olympia Municipal Court, Monday – Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.