Council Committees and Assignments

Council Committees

  • Members: Jim Cooper - Chair, Jeannine Roe, Jessica Bateman
  • Staff Liaison: Dean Walz, Administrative Services Director,
  • General Topics: Budget, Revenues, Expenses
  • Regular Meeting: 2nd Wednesday, 5:00 p.m., Olympia City Hall, 601 4th Avenue E
  • Agendas and Minutes

  • Members: Jeannine Roe - Chair, Clark Gilman, Jessica Bateman
  • Staff Liaison: Kellie Purce Braseth, Strategic Communications Director,
  • General Topics: Public Safety, General City policy, Advisory Committees, Community Relations
  • Regular Meeting: 4th Wednesday, 4:30 p.m., Olympia City Hall, 601 4th Avenue E
  • Agendas and Minutes

  • Members: Julie Hankins - Chair, Clark Gilman, Nathaniel Jones
  • Staff Liaison: Keith Stahley, Director of Community Planning & Development,
  • General Topics: Community Development, Land Use, Planning, Utilities, Environment and Sustainability
  • Regular Meeting: 3rd Thursday, 5:30 p.m., Olympia City Hall, 601 4th Avenue E
  • Agendas and Minutes

Interjurisdictional Committee Assignments

  • Delegate: Jessica Bateman
  • Alternate: Clark Gilman
  • Staff Support: Mary Verner

Governing board of a non-profit corporation solely controlled by the member jurisdictions that manages and operates the regional animal shelter, educates the public about responsible pet care, resolves animal problems.

Established by Interlocal Agreement with: Olympia, Lacey, Tumwater, Thurston County. Administration is provided through the City of Lacey. Joint Animal Services website

  • Delegate: Cheryl Selby
  • Alternate: Nathaniel Jones

  • Delegate: Julie Hankins
  • Alternate: Cheryl Selby

Governing board of a non-profit corporation that manages TCOMM911 - consolidated communication (emergency dispatch) services to Thurston County and the cities, fire protection districts and regional fire authorities within Thurston County.

Established by Interlocal Agreement of Thurston County agencies. County-wide voter approval in 2002 for 1/10th of 1% sales tax to support 9-1-1 communication center. TCOMM 9-1-1 website

  • Delegate: Jeannine Roe
  • Alternate: Jim Cooper

  • Delegate: Cheryl Selby
  • Alternate: Jim Cooper

Governing board of a private, non-profit corporation. Agency Mission: Create a vital and sustainable economy throughout our County that supports the livelihood and values of our residents. Thurston EDC website

  • Delegate: Jeannine Roe
  • Alternate: Jim Cooper
  • Staff Liaison: Larry Dibble, Fire Chief; Greg Wright, Deputy Fire Chief

Advisory Council that makes policy recommendations to the Thurston County Commissioners for the publicly funded county-wide Medic One system and services. Agency Mission: Provide efficient and effective pre-hospital emergency medical services (EMS) throughout Thurston County.

County-wide voter approved property tax levy in 1974 for Medic One services. Thurston County Medic One website

  • Delegate: Clark Gilman
  • Alternate: Jim Cooper
  • Staff Liaison: Sophie Stimson

Governing board of the public transportation authority (a municipal corporation) for Olympia, Lacey, Tumwater, and Yelm (and their urban growth areas). Agency Mission: To provide and promote public transportation choices that support an accessible, sustainable, livable, healthy, prosperous community.

Voter approval effective 01/01/1981 to create the Thurston County Public Transportation Authority and levy sales tax. Intercity Transit website

  • Delegate: Jessica Bateman
  • Alternate: Jim Cooper

Multi-jurisdictional, multi-discipline advisory group created by the Thurston County Board of Commissioners to share information, create partnerships, and develop regional recommendations regarding criminal justice issues and systems throughout the County.

  • Mayor’s Rep: Jeannine Roe
  • Council Rep: Jim Cooper
  • Staff Support: Pat Pineda, Tom Morrill

Municipal board that approves and disapproves all applications for disability leave, medical treatment, and disability retirement for City of Olympia members of the LEOFF I pension system. LEOFF Disability Board website

  • Delegate: Julie Hankins
  • Alternate: Jeannine Roe
  • Staff Liaison: Rich Hoey, Public Works Director

Governing board of a nonprofit corporation solely controlled by the partner representatives that provides wastewater transmission, treatment and discharge services in the cities of Olympia, Lacey and Tumwater.

Established by Interlocal Agreement with Olympia, Lacey, Tumwater, and Thurston County in 2000. LOTT website

  • Delegate: Jim Cooper
  • Alternate: Jeannine Roe

The Olympic Region Clean Air Agency (ORCAA) is a local government agency charged with regulatory and enforcement authority for air quality issues in Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Mason, Pacific, and Thurston counties. ORCAA is one of seven such regional air pollution control agencies in Washington state. ORCAA website

  • Delegate: Clark Gilman
  • Alternate: Randy Wesselman, Public Works Transportation Engineer

Advisory Board to the Thurston Regional Planning Council on policies and programs relating to regional transportation issues.

  • Delegate: Jessica Bateman
  • Staff Liaison: Dan Daniels, Waste ReSources Line of Business Director

An advisory committee to the Thurston County Commissioners for solid waste planning and program implementation.

  • Delegate: Nathaniel Jones
  • Alternate: Cheryl Selby
  • Staff Liaison: Keith Stahley, Director, Community Planning & Development / Tom Hill, Building Official

Board of Directors of a public corporation (regional Council of governments in Thurston County) that provides contracted and grant-supported land use and transportation planning services to the member agencies.

1967 interlocal agreement was signed by Olympia, Lacey, Tumwater, Yelm, Rainier, Tenino, Budoca, Tumwater, Thurston County, Port of Olympia, Olympia School District, North Thurston School District. Thurston Regional Planning Council website

  • Delegate: Jeannine Roe
  • Alternate: Cheryl Selby

  • Delegate: Jeannine Roe
  • Alternate: Julie Hankins
  • Staff Liaison: Kellie Purce Braseth, Strategic Communications Director

Governing board of a private, non-profit membership-based corporation that promotes the Thurston County area as a preferred destination for meetings, conventions and leisure travel. Vistors and Conention Bureau website

Other Committees

  • Chair: Julie Hankins
  • Staff Liaison: Kellie Purce Braseth, Strategic Communications Director

5-member advisory committee to the City Council. Makes recommendations on use of the City's portion of lodging tax.

  • Delegate: Cheryl Selby, Mayor
  • Staff Liaison: Susan Grisham

The Mayor’s Forum was established in the late 1990s for information discussion and information sharing by Thurston County Mayors and Chairs of other local public agencies. The group generally meets monthly on the first Friday. Agencies which are a part of this forum include Thurston County, the Port of Olympia and the Cities of Lacey, Bucoda, Olympia, Rainier, Tenino, Tumwater, and Yelm.

  • Delegate: Jeannine Roe
  • Alternate: Julie Hankins
  • Staff Liaison: Mark Rentfrow

The PBIA Board was created by the Olympia City Council in January, 2006 with the adoption of Ordinance No. 6375 establishing the Parking and Business Improvement Area (PBIA) for downtown Olympia. The Board recommends an annual work program/budget to the City Council, communicates with ratepayers, and implements improvement projects in downtown Olympia. PBIA website