LEOFF Disability Board


The Law Enforcement Officer and Firefighter (LEOFF) Disability Board is responsible for administering State law (RCW 41.26, Law Enforcement Officers and Fire Fighters retirement system) regarding all requests for disability leave, medical and dental treatment, and disability retirement for City of Olympia members of the LEOFF 1 pension system.  The regular term of office on the Board is two years.  The Board meets the 2nd Monday each month at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall.

The LEOFF Board consists of the Mayor or Mayor appointee, one Councilmember, one active or retired firefighter representative, one active or retired law enforcement officer representative, and one member of the public-at-large appointed by the remaining members of the Board. 

LEOFF 1 Disability Board Members

Mayor appointee, Councilmember Jim Cooper - Board Chair (term 2/2012-2/2015)
Councilmember Jeannine Roe - Vice Chair (term 2/2012-2/2015)
Fire Department Representative - Jack Seward (term 8/2012-8/2014)
Police Department representative - John O'Neill (term 8/2012-8/2014)
Public-at-Large member - David Threedy (term 9/2012-9/2014)

Public-At-Large Vacancy

Interested in a volunteer opportunity?

To apply: Submit a resume and letter of interest outlining general qualifications by Friday, August 22, 2014 @ 5:00 p.m.

Requirements:  Must reside within the City of Olympia and attend Open Government Training (within 90 days of appointment to the board)

The Public-At-Large member is appointed by the other four members of the board and volunteers for a two year term.

Any questions?  See staff support contacts at bottom of page.



The City will transition all LEOFF 1 members on Medicare to the Regence Medicare Advantage Plan, effective October 1, 2014. 


Submit Claims

Mail: Attn: HR, City of Olympia, PO Box 1967, Olympia, WA  98507
Email: humanresources@ci.olympia.wa.us
Fax: 360-709-2735


Staff Support

Joe Olson, HR Director 360.753.8309
Carl Watts, Personnel Analyst 360.7536.8305
Cyndi Cox, LEOFF 1 Secretary 360.753.8310