Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission was created in 1935 to consider a variety of personnel matters within the Olympia Police and Fire Departments relating to the Civil Service ordinance and rules, OMC 2.44 - Civil Service Commission PDF.


The Olympia Civil Service Commission members are appointed by the City Manager.

  • Oscar Soule, Chair - term ends November, 2016
  • Linda Villegas Bremer - term ends June, 2015
  • Jim Boyde - term ends April 2014

Membership Criteria

Each member must be a resident of the City of Olympia and a registered voter in Thurston County, Washington.

Meeting Date, Time, Place

3rd Tuesday, 8:30 a.m., Olympia City Hall, unless otherwise noticed.

Staff Liaison

Heather Stafford, Human Resources Manager, is Secretary/Chief Examiner for the Commission.
Phone: 360.753.8309

Staff Contacts

Cyndi Cox
Phone: 360.753.8310